Fibonacci search technique vs. Convicts (You Am I album)

Fibonacci search technique

Math class is tough!

A very useful (I assume) search algorithm that makes use of Fibonacci numbers, which is this really great series of numbers starting with 0 and 1 where each number in the sequence is the sum of the previous two numbers. Here are the first 15 Fibonacci numbers: 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, 55, 89, 144, 233, 377.

So the Fibonacci search technique is an algorithm based on that stellar series of numbers. Wikipedia says it is a “divide and conquer algorithm”, which sounds pretty bad-ass until you realize it is mostly talking about computer memory and magnetic tape or something. Apparently it has a slight advantage over a binary search when it comes to non-uniform access memory storage. I don’t really know what that means, and it doesn’t really sound all that impressive, frankly.

You can check out the actual algorithm at the Wikipedia page, but to be perfectly honest it doesn’t mean very much to me. I know diddly squat about computer search functions, so I don’t know if it is awesome or lame that the Fibonacci search technique has a complexity of O(log(x)). I wonder if you can rate a person’s complexity with that kind of a formula. Like EM(o(whinyXdeep)).

VS.

Convicts (You Am I album)

You Am I's "Convicts." It's no "Back in Black," but it's also not math.

Frankly, I think I should win this one by default as Alison freaked out at the prospect of writing about You Am I’s seventh album Convicts and she was also jealous that I got Fibonacci search technique so I agreed to trade. But the thing is, I still win anyway because any Australian rock band is going to be better than sorting array using a divide and conquer algorithm. Everybody knows that.

I’ll admit, I haven’t heard anything on Convicts, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard anything by You Am I before either (and I still haven’t, their player on MySpace doesn’t appear to be working. Help me out here guys). … OK, I’m watching a video of them performing their single It Ain’t Funny How We Don’t Talk Anymore. And … well. … It opened well. I’m not sure if I like singer/guitarist Tim Rogers’ voice much (but he does get bonus points for singing with an Australian accent). The name of the song is kinda funny. And the album opens with a track called Thank God I’ve Hit the Bottom. How awesome is that? These guys clearly still understand rock ‘n’ roll, even if it does sound a bit like the trying to cash in on over-the-top classic rock ‘n’ roll that I hoped had died with The Darkness. …

Shit, but I’m going way off course here. You Am I were the first Australian band to have three albums successively debut at #1. Not that that means anything to me but they’re clearly doing something right. They’ve played with The Strokes and Soundgarden. And while they might not be ACDC, the important thing is this band is clearly not as bad as sitting around in your room labouring over equations like Fk+2 = Fk+1 + Fk, when k ≥ 0, F1 = 1, and F0 = 0. Nerd alert! Who the fuck wants to do that? I’m sure I could find something more intriguing on Convicts. The fact that they changed their name to The Convicts while touring North America is more interesting than Fibonaccian nonsense.

Published in: on January 6, 2010 at 9:10 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tournamentofeverything.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/fibonacci-search-technique-vs-convicts-you-am-i-album/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Future Blues (Canned Heat album) Stop messin' with the planet! This is the second time I’ve gotten a record to talk about that I unfortunately know almost n…In this case, I feel in the wrong because I probably should’ve listened to more of the […]

  2. […] good. Math. Well, you know I love math, even when I don’t understand it. My dad is a mathematician, and he liked to explain complex […]


Leave a Reply

